//
you're reading...
Personal Growth

Lori Portka on Conflict & Kindness

I felt angry toward my friend.
I told my wrath, my wrath did end.
I felt angry toward my foe.
I told him not, my wrath did grow.


William Blake

I am extremely conflict-avoidant.

I always thought that on some level, this made me very kind.

Recently, I learned otherwise.

I have a dear friend who is part of the same cooperative art gallery as me. She called me one night with what I (incorrectly) perceived were threatening questions regarding one of the co-op policies and my connection to it. While on the phone with her I felt fear, anger, frustration, and confusion. I denied all of that within me. I was nice and kind.

In the weeks that followed, I stewed with anger every time I thought about our conversation. This is not an experience I have often. I adore my friends, I love this particular friend dearly, and like I said, I am extremely conflict-avoidant. So I pushed the anger down and then was angry at myself for having any lingering anger. Madness!

But I am learning to be true and to honor my feelings. The trouble is I did not honor myself or my friend, in this case. I said nothing. And when I ran into her by accident, and it was nearly impossible for me to pretend to be the way I usually am around her. I was passive aggressive, giving her short answers and little eye contact.

“Are you mad at me?” My beautiful friend asked me with the most concerned voice.

I can still picture the expression on her face. She was me when I was little.

Oh no. Had I become my mother? My mom is super loving and a good mom to me but she does not handle anger directly. When I was younger I was constantly wondering, “Mom, are you mad at me? What did I do wrong?” I found myself trying to “fix” the problem when I didn’t even know what the problem was.

I wish I would have called my friend after we talked on the phone, once I processed my emotions. “I didn’t really love the conversation we had, but I love you. Can we talk?” That would have been kind.

Later that night, after a big lesson learned, I sat in meditation. I poured kindness over myself. It is okay, I am learning. I sent kindness to my mother. She has always loved me with her whole heart and I have always known this to be true.

And I sent kindness to my friend. She is pure light and love. Thank you, sweet friend.

Lori Portka is a full-time artist, doing what she loves, in hope of spreading a little happiness around. She is sweet and compassionate and is learning to say “no” when “yes” does not feel right and accept (and even embrace) the non-optimistic, angry, spitfire part of herself. She travels as much as possible, and loves animals with all her heart. Connect with Lori through her website and etsy.


About cosmicdarling

One with all that is

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

May 2011
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers

